FEATURED

News and Events

An Evening With Sophie O’Neill – Fastnet Skipper and Ex Member of RHSC – Friday 12 April 2024

Feb 26, 2024 | Rye Harbour Sailing Club

Sophie O’Neill learnt to sail under the instruction of Paul & Mark Whiteman, nearly 30 years ago, both at the Rye Harbour Sailing Club and the Sea Cadets. They must have done something right as Sophie’s CV reads like an adventure story!

In her words:

“As a child I grew up in Moscow, Russia. It was here I first stepped into a dinghy on the Volga. Returning to the UK aged 12 I really took up sailing at the club. I saved my birthday and pocket money to gain sea miles on yachts. At 17 I started to teach sailing and by 21 I was working professionally both in dinghy sailing and yachting.

After University I went on to work in the industry full time. I was always pushing myself to be the best I can be so I studied hard in a lot of nautical subjects and aimed to deliver high standards on the water.

I worked as a racing skipper, skippering & competing in 5 Fastnets, 5 RORC 600 races, Cowes weeks and many Caribbean regattas as well as skippering numerous transatlantic crossings, some racing across. One of the pinnacles of my career was a double handed south Atlantic Ocean crossing in the depth of an icy winter.

In 2018 I was asked to help a Clipper team race across the North Pacific, where we won the leg and it was here I met my partner, Christoffer Kobusch.

After the Clipper Race we were invited to apply for Skip Novaks Pelagic Expeditions, taking science/ photography teams to some of the most remote islands in the world, including the South Sandwich Islands, South Georgia, Marion Island, Gough Island and Antarctica. This has been one of the highlights of my sailing career, working for the well-respected Skip Novak and sailing into regions that have no support network, where the weather dominates.